Raw Granola

This is from a blog (habariganikate.blogspot.com) I’ve been following. You should go there, give her a few clicks and get her almond milk recipe to put on the Grawnola.

Grawnola and Cinnamon-Banana Almond Milk (and O photos)

Today I’m posting one of my favorite raw recipes: “grawnola.” I never eat granola because it usually has gluten in it. And, I’ve been drinking smoothies for breakfast for so long I hadn’t really thought about actually eating breakfast. But, I’m trying to get better about that too. Although my recent weight gain tells me maybe I should stick to smoothies. Anyway…this recipe is from Sarma Melngailis’ Raw Food Real World, and it is AMAZING. The orange zest and vanilla really add a flavor that’s better than any granola I’ve ever had. This recipe makes about 10 cups.
Cranberry Maple Granola
1 apple, cored and chopped
1 ½ cups date paste (I didn’t have this, so I blended real dates and a little bit of water, which I think is the same thing, and added some agave nectar to make up the difference)
½ cup maple syrup
2 Tbs lemon juice
2 Tbs orange zest
1 Tbs vanilla extract
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp sea salt
½ cup raw sunflower seeds, soaked 2 hours or more
2 cups raw almonds, soaked 4 hours or more
3 cups raw pecans, soaked 2 hours or more
1 cup raw pumpkin seeds, soaked 2 hours or more
1 cup dried cranberries
Leave a Reply

